The Great Used Car Adventure of 2016

Episode 1: How it All Got Started

It was an otherwise unremarkable late afternoon in August, and I was driving home from work in my beloved 2008 Volkswagen GTI Mark V.  At a four-way stop about four miles from the supper table, fate intervened and I found myself participating in a reenactment of the sinking of the Andrea Doria. A Chevy Traverse, playing the role of MS Stockholm, collided with the GTI and all but took the whole front clip off.

wreck-of-the-gti

We hit at maybe 10 or 15 MPH.  Fortunately, no people were harmed, just plastic and sheet metal and a radiator or two.  I knew as soon as I saw the damage that the GTI–my faithful daily driver and delightful road toy for nine years and 182,179 one-owner miles–was unsalvageable.

So what to replace it with? I had two non-negotiable requirements for the replacement: it must be fun to drive, and it must have a stick shift.  After the search was underway, a mandate from my household’s finance and budgeting committee–my wife–added a third non-negotiable criterion: the price of my next car could not exceed $10,000.

Could such a car exist, and if it did, could it be found in Northeast Ohio?  Join me for Episode 2, in which the hunt begins.

–Mike (Cookie the Dog’s Owner)

3 thoughts on “The Great Used Car Adventure of 2016

  1. Pingback: CC and Me | It Rolls.

Leave a Reply

